2013 MMFF New Wave Entries

6:28:00 PM

The Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) urges the moviegoers to patronize the official entries to the "New Wave" or Indie films category of the 39th Metro Manila Film Festival this year.

MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino, appealed for public support for the 13 entries for the Full Length, Animation and Student Short Films categories at Glorietta 4 in Makati City and SM Megamall cinemas in Mandaluyong on December 19 to December 24.

A movie ticket costs only P100 only for the films, Tolentino said.

"We assure you of good entertainment if you watch and see these New Wave films by our young and budding filmmakers who crafted them laboriously in different genre such as drama, romantic comedy and action drama," he added.

The MMFF’s New Wave section was introduced in 2010 to cater to the independent or "indie" producers and aspiring student filmmakers from various colleges and universities in the country.

The indie film entries are:

Full Length:

Mga Anino ng Kahapon  -  Agot Isidro, TJ Trinidad -  Vim Yapan/Aelm Chua Productions
Island Dreams -  Louise Delos Reyes, Alexis Petitprez – Kenau Pictures Production
Dukit -   Raquel Villavicencio, Wilfredo Layug, et al -   Center Stage Productions
Maestra – Biboy Ramirez, Perla Bautista  -  Pixel Works Ent./Scenema Concept Int’l
Saka Saka – Ejay Falcon, Joseph Marco -  Cinebro

Details and Synopsis:

1.      ANG MAESTRA (drama) – from Pixel Works Entertainement and Scenema Concept International, written and directed by Joven Tan. 

CAST:  Biboy Ramirez, Dennis Padilla, Jenine Desiderio, Vaness del Moral, Basty Alcanses, Dexter Doria, Lui Manansala, Mel Kimura, and Ms. Perla Bautista

SYNOPSIS:  This is a story of Lola Mila, a retired teacher, who, because of senility and Alzheimer’s Disease, is hurt by her grandson, Rafael.  When Lola Mila runs away, she is adopted by friends and neighbors.  In his search for his lost grandmother, Rafael discovers how great a teacher she was.

2.      DUKIT (drama) – from CenterStage Productions, written and directed by Armando "Bing" Lao.

CAST:  Willy Layug, Raquel Villavicencio, Bor Ocampo, Bambalito Lacap, Thea Lelay, Rhea Lim, Mark Joseph Griswold, and Grace Martinez.

SYNOPSIS:  What does it take for a son to forgive the father who had abandoned his family for another woman?

3.      ISLAND DREAMS  (romantic comedy) – from Kenau Pictures Production, written by Aloy Adlawan, co-directed by Aloy Adlawan and Gino Santos.

CAST:  Louise delos Reyes, Alexis Petitprez (French actor), Irma Adlawan, Chanel Latorre, Hector Macaso, Natasha Villaroman.

SYNOPSIS:  An underprivileged Filipina who dreams to become a singer meets an American vacationer looking for a one night stand, both ultimately finding something else.

4.       MGA ANINO NG KAHAPON (drama) – from Vim Yapan / Alem Chua Productions, written and directed by Alvin Yapan. 

CAST:  Agot Isidro, TJ Trinidad, Carlo Cruz, Upeng Galang Fernandez, Carl Acosta.  

SYNOPSIS:  When Ed goes abroad to work as a nurse, he leaves behind his wife Irene and son Brian under the care of his mother, Flor, and younger brother Carlo.  The situation turns problematic as Irene claims that their house is being monitored by the military.  She turns fearful of shadows that she says belong to undercover operatives lurking about.  

As Irene’s disposition spirals into paranoia, the family’s peace is affected.  Ed, Flor, Carlo, and even young Brian struggle to help and understand Irene while they all try to deal with her disorder.

5.      SAKA SAKA (action-drama) – from Cine Bro Productions, written by Manny Buising and Willy Laconsay, directed by Toto Natividad. 

CAST:  Ejay Falcon, Joseph Marco, Baron Geisler, Kathleen Hermosa, Perla Bautista, Akiko Solon, Toby Alejar, and Mon Confiado.

SYNOPSIS:  Two brothers grow up in a world of violence and politics as private assassins called SAKA SAKA. Their bond is challenged as their duty and principles collide.


OMJ Origin of Mang Jose - Koji-Kabuto Enterprise
Kaleh and Mbaki - Dennis Sebastian
Ang Lalong ni Kulakog - Ateneo De Naga University
Gayuma ni Maria - Post-Advance Science and Technology Institute, Flash Animation
Mamang Pulis (Mr. Policeman) - Hannah Espia

2013 Student Short Film entries:

1. No Filter - Mapua - Luigi Lupe Rosario

2. Limang Taon ni Lola - University of the Philippines - Martika Ramirez

3. Gapos - Letran - Rizchell Anne Miguel 

4. Jonathan - University of the Philippines - Rolson Chester D. Ilao

5. Sequence 25 - Far Eastern University - Jose Limuel C. Silvestre 

Awards for Best Director, Best Actress, and Best Actor will also be given in the Full Length category.

You Might Also Like