PHILPOP 2014 Full List of Winners

11:04:00 PM

The finals night of this year's Philippine Popular Music Festival (Philpop) was held at the Meralco Theater on Saturday, July 26.

From the many song entries in this year's competition, 12 songs were chosen, composed of veteran and amateur songgwriters, and interpreted by some of the country's top musicians. This year, songwriter Jungee Marcelo’s “Salbabida” won the top prize and was interpreted by Kyla.

In 2013, the song "Dati" won the top prize, written by Thyro Alfaro and Yumi Lacsamana, and interpreted by Sam Concepcion & Tippy Dos Santos featuring Quest. Songwriter Johnoy Danao placed first runner-up in the contest with his song "Kung Di Man." Jungee Marcelo was second place with the song "Pansamantagal."

Here is the complete list of winners:

Grand prize winner: "Salbabida" by Jungee Marcelo, interpreted by Kyla

1st Runner up: "Awit Mo’y Nandito Pa" by Ronaldo "Toto" Sorioso, interpreted by Aldrich Talonding and James Bucong

2nd Runner up: "Torpe" by Daryl Ong, interpreted by Kris Lawrence

Spinnr People's Choice Award: "Kung Akin Ang Langit" by Chi Datu-Bocobo and Isaac Joseph Garcia, interpreted by Mcoy Fundales and Clara Benin

The Philpop Musicfest not only aims to give and discover Filipino songwriters the opportunity to create original songs, but also aims to renew awareness for original Filipino music (OPM).

You Might Also Like