CINEMALAYA Philippine Independent Film Festival 2015

3:39:00 AM

The much awaited Cinemalaya opens this year with the film “Taklub” starring Nora Aunor and directed by Brillante Mendoza this August 7. 
Established in 2005, Cinemalaya is an all-digital film festival and competition which aims “to discover, encourage, and honor” cinematic works of Filipino filmmakers.

Check out the short films that will be showcased this year:  
“Apasol” by Ryanne Murcia
“Gatilyo ng Baril” by Glenmark Doromal and Eero Yves Francisco
“Kyel” by Arvin Belarmino
“Lisyun Qng Geografia” by Petersen Vargas
“Mater” by Annemikami Pablo
“Nenok” by Milo Tolentino
“Papetir” by Darwin Novicio
“Pusong Bato” by Martika Ramirez Escobar
“Sanctissima” by Kenneth Dagatan
“Wawa” by Angelie Mae Macalanda
Tickets are at P154.50 per screening and the daily pass is at P515 for CCP.

The winner of the short-film category will receive Php150,000 cash prize.

In 2016, the full-length feature category will resume. There will be no subcategories for the full-length feature category as in past Cinemalaya festivals. Ten finalists will be chosen for the full-length feature category which will be announced during the Awards Night of this year's Festival. Finalists will receive production grants of Php750,000 each, up from the previous Php500,000 of previous years. 

The Best Film will receive a cash award of Php250,000.  Cinemalaya 2016 will be held on August 5-14 at the CCP and other Festival venues.

In addition to the competition, Cinemalaya 2015 has the following sections: “The Independents: Asia,” “Indie Nation,” Cinemalaya Restrospective, “Indie Festival’s Best,” Documentaries, New Short-films in Exhibition, Cinemalaya Winners, and Gawad CCP Para sa Alternatibong Pelikula.

“The Independents: Asia” section opens with Zhang Yimou’s acclaimed “Coming Home” with Chinese superstar Gong Li in the lead role. This section will offer award-winning films of NETPAC such as “The Ferry” by Shi Wei, “The Night of Silence” by Reis Celik, “Poet on a Business Trip” by Ju Anqi, “Summer Kyoto” by Hiroshi Toda, “Six Feet High” by Sanalkumar Sashidaran, “The Move” by Marat Saruklu, “The Monk” by The Maw Naing, “The Owners” by Adikhana Yerzhanov, “The Last Reel” by Sotho Kulikar, and “The Tale of Princess Kaguya” by Isao Takahata.
The Cinemalaya Retrospective features all the Best Films of Cinemalaya from 2005 to 2014 in the New Breed, Directors Showcase, Short Feature, and the “Audience Choice” categories.
The “Cinemalaya Documentaries” section highlights titles such as “Sayaw” by Cecilia Asuncion and “My Revolutionary Mother” by Jethro Patalinghug, among others.
The “Gawad CCP Para sa Alternatibong Pelikula at Video,” which is considered the longest-running independent film competition of its kind in the ASEAN/Asian region, will be an added feature of this year’s Cinemalaya. 
The Gawad Alternatibo runs August 8, 9, and 11 at the CCP Tanghalang Manuel Conde.
The Cinemalaya Forum, a major component of the festival, is on Aug. 11-12 at the CCP Little Theater.
The Cinemalaya 2015 Exhibit at the Bulwagang Carlos V. Francisco (Little Theater Lobby) will feature posters and memorabilia from the films selected for the competition.

The Balangay Awards are the much-coveted trophies, inspired by the mythical “sarimanok” and given to winners of the annual film festival, which is a joint project of the Cinemalaya Foundation and CCP.

For more information, please visit,

You Might Also Like